4th International Conference on the Inclusive Museum, Johannesburg, June 30-3 July 2011

Subject: 4th International Conference on the Inclusive Museum, Johannesburg, June 30-3 July 2011

Johannesburg, June 30-3 July 2011, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa


The 25th General Assembly of the International Council of Museums meeting on 12 November 2010 in Shanghai, China, resolved in the affirmative the continued participation of ICOM in the Inclusive Museum Knowledge Platform beyond 2011, so that it could become a valuable resource for the museum and the wider heritage community

The Inclusive Museum Knowledge Community is brought together by common concern for the future role of the museum and in particular how it can become more inclusive. The community interacts through an innovative, annual face-to-face conference, as well as year-round virtual relationships in a weblog, peer reviewed journal and book imprint – exploring the affordances of the new digital media. Members of this knowledge community include academics, curators, museum and public administrators, cultural policy makers and research students. The majority of participants are young people who are scoping and working on innovative, inspirational and challenging issues in museums. Complimentary registrations are available for graduate students who submit abstracts and present papers based on their research in museums.

Members of the Inclusive Museum community meet at the International Conference on the Inclusive Museum, held annually in different locations around the world.
The inaugural Conference was held at the National Museum of Ethnology, Leiden, the Netherlands in 2008; the University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia in 2009; and the Yildiz Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey in 2010; In 2011, the Conference will be held at the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa.
Our community members and first time attendees come from all corners of the globe. The Conference is a site of critical reflection, both by leaders in the field and emerging scholars and practitioners. Those unable to attend the Conference may opt for virtual participation in which community members can submit a video and/or slide presentation with voice-over, or simply submit a paper for peer review and possible publication in the Journal.

The Inclusive Museum Community enables members to publish through three media.
First by participating in the Inclusive Museum Conference, community members can enter a world of journal publication unlike the traditional academic publishing forums – a result of the responsive, non-hierarchical and constructive nature of the peer review process. The International Journal of the Inclusive Museum provides a framework for double-blind peer review, enabling authors to publish into an academic journal of the highest standard.

The second publication medium is through the book imprint On Museums, publishing cutting edge books in print and electronic formats. Publication proposals and manuscript submissions are welcome.

The third major publishing medium is our news blog, constantly publishing short news updates from the Inclusive Museum Community, as well as major developments in the museum field. You can also join this conversation at Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our email Newsletter.
For full information and to register for free Newsletter please go to:

International Board
Professor Corazon S. Alvina, Philippines; Ms. Alissandra Cummins, Immediate Past President of ICOM, Barbados; Dr. Ann Davis, Canada; Dr. Shahid Vawda, South Africa; Ms. Adi Meretui Ratunabuabua, Fiji Islands; Professor Laishun An, Secretary General ICOM 2010, China; Mlle Christine Hemmet, France; Professor Henry C. (Jatti) Bredekamp, South Africa; Dr. Lina G. Tahan, UK; Lcda Lucía Astudillo Loor, Ecuador; Professor Pascal Makambila, Congo; Professor Dr. Bill Cope, USA; Professor Dr. Tereza C. Moletta Scheiner, Vice President, ICOM Executive Council, Brazil; Professor W. Richard West, USA; Dr. Hans-Martin Hinz, President of the International Council of Museums, Germany; Dr. Knut Wik, Chairperson, ICOM Advisory Committee; Norway; Mr. Julien Anfruns, Director General, iCOM and President of the International Committee of the Blue Shield.
Chairperson: Professor Dr. Amareswar Galla, India & Australia.


Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )


Connexion à %s

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :